Review: Cress, Marissa Meyer

You know these series you’re scared to go on with, because what if the next book is terrible, and what if the finale is just awful and I wish I stopped at the first book? Well, if you’re considering reading The Lunar Chronicles series, or haven’t yet -what are you waiting for?-, or still wondering whether to go on with it, or not… WAIT NO MORE. And go read it all now. I’m saying this while I’m still waiting to read Winter, but I feel like, after reading Cress, I can safely say, this is one of these series that just keeps on getting BETTER. .

CINDERELLA, RED RIDING HOOD AND…RAPUNZEL?

💭

“He leaned forward to inspect her closer. “Is that all hair?”

If you don’t know it by now, Marissa Meyer is kind of having fun with some original fairytales in this series, turning Cinderella into Cinder -with well, lots of changes obviously, but you can see the stepmother, even the glass shoe-, The Little Red Riding Hood into Scarlet-with the big bad Wolf turning out to be oh so wonderfully sweet, slightly possessive and criminal but still loving as hell-. With Cress, we’re seeing more of the Rapunzel fairytale. You remember, the girl with impossibly long hair, locked up in a tower? Well, that’s it, except she’s stuck in a spaceship, but…technicalities, I guess? I’m loving how this series is making me think about these old stories and turning them completely upside down, surprising us with twists and a completely different, incredibly thoughtful world-building. I always said in my previous reviews that I was amazed about this world-building, and well, I still am. In all of its complexities, rules, potential wars and multi-layered leaders, The Lunar Chronicles is such a fantastic series, and Cress definitely takes it to a whole other level of love in my heart.

CRESS: NEW FAVORITE CHARACTER ALERT

💭

“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

Something I really loved in Cress, is how much more of Cinder we get to see. I was a bit frustrated that, in the second installment of this series, we seemed to get a bit less of Cinder, despite her being, well, the main character and everything, she fell in the background. Here, we have more place, more room for her to develop and change as the world around her goes darker and every decision she makes might change everything around her, and everyone’s fate. I loved to see her grow, struggle and face her future with pride and a bit of anxiety as well. As it’s a tradition in this series, in this third book, we’re introduced to a whole new character, Cress. And oh, how I LOVED Cress, I don’t even know where to begin. Stuck in a spaceship, forced to work for someone she hates, didn’t see the ground or the world -Lunar, or Earthen- in YEARS. Professional hacker. Okay maybe we won’t be twins of the year, but I could relate to her so, so much. She was adorable, realistic, looked at the world with some kind of naivete at first, yet she showed strength when she needed to. She was PERFECT and I loved her.

A PERFECT CREW.

💭

“Hello?” A girl again. “I know you can hear me. I’m sorry my friend is such a wing nut. You can just ignore him.”

“That’s usually what we do,” said the other feminine voice.”

If you’re going on an adventure, or dreaming about it, you’re always thinking about the crew to take along with you. Hopping on the ship, and sharing these 400 and something pages with Cinder’s crew was incredibly breath-taking, for two reasons. One, because I couldn’t get my breath back, literally. Action-packed, filled with surprises and emotions at every corner, you have no idea where the story is going to take you next, and, more scary, no idea if everything or everyone is going to be okay. Two, because all of the relationships are slowly-built, realistically, and making me ship everything and everyone like a melting marshmallow. We meet Cress in that story, and we meet her with Thorne, and I think I have found one of my favorite ships of EVER. Her dreaminess and his sarcasm, his way of caring for her, every single one of their conversations made me smile like a crazy idiot.

OVERALL

I laughed, and I wanted to cry, I threw the book away, and at the end, I stared. Eyes wide open, not quite believing how it could end like this. A rollercoaster of emotions for a series that just keeps on getting better. Winter, I’m coming for you soon, and if this goes on like this, well… I’m ready for the fireworks. And the tears. And emotions. And, oh, I just need that book RIGHT NOW.

Final rating:  It’s a hurricane!

Did you read Cress? Did you enjoy it? Do you want to read it?

What’s your favorite book in The Lunar Chronicles series? If you haven’t read it, do you want to? Share your thoughts in comments!


 

Marissa Meyer, Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3),  Published by Feiwel & Friends, February 4th 2014.

 goodreads-badge-add-plus-fad3b68d35050280ea55d50f17c654b5

In this third book in Marissa Meyer’s bestselling Lunar Chronicles series, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and prevent her army from invading Earth.

Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl trapped on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s being forced to work for Queen Levana, and she’s just received orders to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.

When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is splintered. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a higher price than she’d ever expected. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai, especially the cyborg mechanic. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

Posted by

Book blogger, travel blogger, writer. 📚 |🌍 | 💞 Writing & Communications Graduate. French. Living on love, wanderlust and ya books.

46 thoughts on “Review: Cress, Marissa Meyer

  1. Ahhh I adored Cress! And the entire series 😊 Winter is brilliant as well. The thing I liked most about this series was the CREW. I love each and every one of them and they all have their unique place on the team. Thorne also really grew on me the last 2 books 😉 he’s so sarcastic and hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww I’m so glad you loved this series as well. I’m impatient to finally read Winter, it’s such a big book, but I feel like I’m going to read it quickly anyways ahah. Ohh yes, I agree, Thorne is such a good character, I’m loving him more and more! 🙂 Thank you so much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think I remember those stories enough to appreciate the retelling, that’s a shame. Still, the way you talked about it makes me curious. I might enjoy Meyer’s version better! Great review ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so glad you loved this book. I just bought Cinder after everyone and their mother kept telling me how good it is. It’s on the “to read by the end of 2016” TBR. And new favorite character alert. Love that! Nice review, Marie! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Obviosuly I love this series and I am so so thrilled you’re enjoying it as well. The series does get better and better so I can’t wait for you to start Winter.
    Cress is probably my second favourite character (Cinder is the first obviously), and Thorne is my favourite male character so I loved seeing the two of them together. And I agree with you on the fact that it was great seeing more of Cinder in this one as well, she wasn’t given much page time in Scarlet but in Cress it seemed like she started making real steps to finally face Levana.
    Great review Marie, and all I will say now is start Winter right away! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If you’re trying to control the amount of books you buy I won’t be any help on that front. I’m just like ‘yes, buy it now!’
        I think you’ll love the ending, it was well worth the wait and I think the waiting time between the release of Winter and Cress was two years (ish)
        Oh Thorne is just as amazing in Winter! If you love him so far be prepared to love him twice as much in the last book!
        That’s all right! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so glad to hear you loved this book – Cress is my favourite book in the series ❤ And I totally agree with you about relating to Cress – despite the whole hacker thing, she is basically my spirit animal. And I ship Cress and Thorne SO MUCH. ❤ Wonderful review! I hope you enjoy Winter just as much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I ADORED Cress! Actually, I was a little worried Winter would let me down since I liked Cress so much (Winter ended up being my favorite of the series). I just love how this series has something for everyone. Cress was the perfect little fangirl and I am glad you enjoyed the book! Great review, as always!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohh I’m so glad to hear you loved Winter so much. I’m impatient to finally see how everything ends, but yes, I’m kind of scared that it won’t live up to my expectations, after this fantastic book. I’m glad to hear it wasn’t the case for you! 🙂 Thank you so much! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Glad you enjoy this Marie! 😀 I love Cress too, her innocence and awkwardness are just so adorable and I absolutely agree Cress+Thorne = cuteness overload <3<3 It's also super cool that she's a hacker haha I don't think I have any favorite because it's been a whole since I read this series, but I remember getting more and more in love with the characters each book and since the last book is about Winter, I guess that makes her my favorite. Am I even making sense here? :') Anyway, it gets better! Winter is surprisingly long (over 800 pages if I recalled correctly) but still so good! Great review 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Cress is just… I don’t have the words to describe how adorable and innocent and lovable she is. I’m glad you like her and the book. Winter is coming (heh) up next! I think it’s the perfect conclusion to this awesome series 🙂 Can’t wait to hear your thoughts on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. AHHHHH I AM SO GLAD YOU ENJOYED THIS ONE! Aren’t the characters just all so adorable?! I love them so much! ❤ The next one is going to be just so wonderful and amazing and lovely – I can't wait to hear your thoughts on it! Wonderful review as always! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. AHH, CRESS IS SO MY FAVORITE BOOK IN THE LUNAR CHRONICLES! Sorry I got excited and felt the need to write that in all caps 🙂 but seriously, it is my favorite and Cress is my favorite character too (together with Thorne) and I just love all these characters and their frendship. I thought Winter was pretty great too, and one of my favorite finales ever so I hope you’ll enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AH YES PLEASE, write in all caps and we can FANGIRL together about this book! I loved Cress so, so much, I’m excited to read Winter as well, but a bit scared it won’t live up to my expectations now, ahah. I hope that won’t happen though 🙂 Thank you so, so much ❤

      Like

  11. YES. Cress is also my favorite character in this series!!! She is such a genuine person. Plus, Cress is incredibly self-aware, even if how she views herself and the world around her is a bit tainted by her life experiences. I can’t wait to read your review for Winter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.