Retracing the steps – The Fault in Our Stars, Amsterdam

Hi guys! How are you? A few days ago, I published you to the first article in my Exploration series. Today, I’m really happy to introduce you to the heart of this series, called, “Retracing the steps”. This brand new feature will combine two of my favorite things: travelling, and, well, books. Since I travel a few times a year, this kind of post will not be up every week, but I hope you’ll still enjoy it! 

For this first time retracing the steps, I’m taking you with me to Amsterdam, Netherlands. This place rings a bell? Known for its narrow houses, canals, and cute little places, this is also the place where The Fault in Our Stars, one of John Green’s most famous novel, took place. Some scenes of the movie adaptation where shot here, too. How about a tour of those now mythical places?

The Rijkmuseum is one of the most famous art museums in the world. To enter, you have to pass through a tunnel, where cyclists and pedestrians walk side by side. In TFIOS, Hazel and Augustus are walking in this very place, and listening to some live music. 

Find this place in Amsterdam,  Museumstraat 1

DSC02744

The Anne Frank House is, as you can see on this picture, one of the most famous places in Amsterdam. Augustus and Hazel went inside to visit this place, and shared their first kiss there. Since I had just one day in Amsterdam, and due to the mile-long queue (I am not kidding), I couldn’t go inside.

Find this place in Amsterdam,  Prinsengracht 263-267

Here’s what you’re all waiting for…the bench where Augustus and Hazel sat down, the scene we all remember perfectly from the movie. Funny story, there are actually two benches at this very place, filled with quotes of The Fault in Our Stars. Which one is the right bench? You’ll have to go to find out! 😉

Find this place in Amsterdam,  Leidsegracht 2

Did you ever went to Amsterdam? Would you like to? 

Do you ever go to places where some of your favorite books are set up, and find yourself wandering, thinking about an imaginary story? Tell me I’m not alone…! 🙂

What do you think of this new feature? Would you like to see more of those, and if so, do you have any suggestions of places and books? Let me know everything in comments!

Posted by

Book blogger, travel blogger, writer. 📚 |🌍 | 💞 Writing & Communications Graduate. French. Living on love, wanderlust and ya books.

9 thoughts on “Retracing the steps – The Fault in Our Stars, Amsterdam

  1. Oooh! I love this new feature of yours! How exciting! I loved The Fault in Our Stars and I LOVE travelling. This feature will definitely give me a dose of wanderlust. This is wonderful and brings back the feels of the novel for me! *wipes tears out of eyes*
    xoxo 💋

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.